Book Review: Operation Z-Day

Operation Z-Day by Dennis F. Larsen

Last year I read Dennis F. Larsen’s The Living Hunger and wrote a very favorable review. It was a post apocalyptic novel and I commented that it was refreshing to read such a book without zombies. After the review was posted, Larsen wrote me and told me he had another post apocalyptic novel if I was interestedand, oh, yeah it did have zombies. 

I admit it did take me some time to get to Operation Z-Day. I started it last night and finished it this morning. The prologue starts with the typical zombie nightmare, and I thought “Yep, this is why I don’t read zombie books anymore. There is nothing new.” Well, I was surprised. The prologue is part of a novel the main character, Raven, is writing. Raven decides her roommates are too much of a distraction to her writing a zombie novel and more importantly her deadline. She heads out to a family cabin well outside of Calgary, Alberta. Her friends three roommates would visit in a week or so.

In the meantime a a flu hits Canada pretty hard. The flu epidemic is much like others, except the virus attacks the cerebrum of the brain essentially neutralizing all higher brain functions. People don’t die and come back, they devolve into “walking dead”: Alive, hungry, and functioning on very primitive levels. 

Wow, this is the most realistic “zombie” scenario I have encountered. I actually enjoyed this book, and I am looking forward to the rest of the series. Operation Z-Day is a fun read for a Sunday afternoon. It is fairly short and can be read in a sitting or two. The plot moves along at a good pace and will have you turning the pages at a quick pace. A very good weekend read.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

